Northern Area Conference
Southern Area Conference
Spring Central Area Conference 2006
New District Vice Presidents
Dept. President Glenda Wheelis
installs 2006-07 District VPs:
(l to r) Florene Rhodes (5th),
Martha Merriman (4th) , and
Leslie Crosby (6th).
The Central Area Fall Conference met April 1, April Fool's Day, but there
was no foolishness about at Forest Post and Unit 9!  

Our hosts treated us to a delicious lunch and opening program at the Post.  
Afterwards, the ladies met at the nearby VFW.

1:15 p.m.  Unit 9 President Florene Rhodes welcomed the more than 40
members present.  Sixth District Vice President Leslie Crosby gave the
response.  After the opening prayer by the Unit 9 Chaplain Mildred Boykin
and the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and Preamble, District 4
President Rosemary Merriman recognized the Department Officers:  
President Glenda Wheelis, 1st Vice Shirley Turner, Historian Madeline
Vuncannon, Chaplain Angela Kilcrease, NEC Janice Crosby, and Secretary
Tommie Stroud.

The Districts had met prior to the luncheon in caucus to nominate and elect
2006-07 District Presidents and Vice Presidents.

Dept. President Wheelis installed District Vice Presidents:
District 4 - Martha Merriman
District 5 - Florene Rhodes
District 6 - Leslie Crosby

District Presidents elected and to be installed at State Convention include
Wendy Walters (District 4), Patricia Trest (District 5), and Tommie Stroud
(District 6).

District 4 President Rosemary Merriman called on her Units for reports,
followed by reports from Units from District 5 and 6.  All were informative and
inspiring.  These Units have being doing so much to meet membership
goals--including a surprise 100% for Unit 112 President Nancy Sanders--and
for our veterans, youth and community.  We are so proud of their
accomplishments and contributions!

The meeting closed with prayer by PDP Jean Eady and adjourned.
American Legion Auxiliary
Department of Mississippi
Wendy Walters, president of
Kosciusko Unit 44, gives her
report.  She is also District
President-elect for District 4.
Pat Randall and Lorene Martin of
Unit 112 in Jackson and Kathy
Williams of Unit 24 in Hattiesburg
look over jewelry for sale for the
Support Fund.
4th District President Rosemary
Merriman (seated) talks things over
with members Shirley Turner (l to r),
Patricia Trest and Janice Crosby.
District 6 President Gladys
Bingham calls on her Units
to report on activities.
click here