Hey Mississippi Units!!
Got pictures of your installation?  
Please send by e-mail or mail to Angela
Kilcrease, Dept. Historian, at
angelakilcrease@bellsouth.net or to 720
Tyler Avenue, Tylertown, MS 39667.  You
could see your photo here, too!
One of the perks of any Mississippi
installation is good food.  Past State
Commander Lynn Rodgers of Calhoun
City shows off the scrumptious cake!
Another perk of any Mississippi
installation is meeting up with fellow
members for fun and fellowship.  Betty
Tolar and PDP Phyllis Moran visit at
Post/Unit 139 in Bay St. Louis.
2006 Unit Installations
Shirley Turner Becomes
Department President
Shirley Turner of Glen Crosby Unit
165 in Cleveland became the
2006-07 Dept. President at State
Convention, July 16, 2006.  Pictured
her with her husband, Charles--her
biggest fan!
American Legion Auxiliary
Department of Mississippi
> Photo Highlights
Department Officers for 2006-2007 were installed at State Convention July
16, 2006.  From left to right:  Shirley Turner, President; Madeline Vuncannon, 1st
Vice; Nancey Sanders, 2nd Vice; Angela Kilcrease, Historian; Kathy Williams,
Chaplain; Glenda Wheelis, NEC; and Janice Crosby, Alternate NEC.
At left, Dept. Pres.
Shirley Turner
installs officers of
Clement R.
Bontemps Unit
in Bay St.
Louis.  Below, PDP
Lou Wilkerson
assumes Unit
The officers of
Gautier-Vancleave Unit
were installed July
21, 2006.  Below, Unit
President Diane Cantrell was
presented the gavel by
installing officer Mary Lyles
of Pascagoula.
Shirley Takes the Podium
Turner addresses the audience at
the Dept. Installation ceremony
at State Convention.
Unit officers from
Walthall County
Unit 56
in Tylertown
were installed July
23, 2006, by Shirley
Turner.  Below, new
Unit President Paula
McGinnis receives
the Minnie Reeves
Memorial Gavel.
Unit officers from Marvin E.
Stainton Unit 11
in Laurel
were installed Aug. 2, 2006,
by PDP Glenda Wheelis.  
Below, Wheelis hands the
gaviel to new Unit President
Jo Jeanfreau.
No good installation is
complete without good food.
Above was one of the cakes made
for Shirley's reception Saturday
evening at State Convention.  
Some Units are famous for their
dinners after installation, while
some provide sumptuous receptions
to conclude the festivities.
Unit officers for
McDavid-Nall Unit
in Petal were
installed by PDP
Glenda Wheelis on
Sunday, Aug. 6,
2006.  Below,
Wheelis hands the
gavel to the new Unit
President Kay
Dept. President Shirley Turner installed
Hovious-Grayson Unit 112 officer July 20,
2006, in Jackson.  Shirley presented President
Nancy Sanders with her gavel.
Dept. President Shirley
installed officers at
Allen B. Carter Post
in Hattiesburg Aug. 8,
2006.  Chellie Boone will
serve as President.